• Red Fred
  • Topic Author
  • ACD Club Life Member
  • Registered
More
07 Jun 2011 04:34 #20251 by Red Fred
Replied by Red Fred on topic boiling fuel
Thanks All,
Sounds like some re-plumbing is in order. Makes sense though. I was surprised at how hot the carb got also. Gail Shaw runs an insulator block to isolate his carb from the heat on his driver. Makes me wonder how these poor things ran back in the day when they were totally stock! Having that fuel pump directly over the exhaust scares me also.
I have a bunch of that loom. We use it on the bikes wiring. Oh yeah, we use in the electrical trade also. I'm an electrician, or at least I was 2 years ago before the industry halted. 32 years in the trade, non-stop, then a sudden road block with only a few more years to go. Frustrating.
Thanks for all the tips, RF.

Life Member

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Josh Malks
  • ACD Club Past President
  • Registered
More
06 Jun 2011 06:48 #20239 by Josh Malks
Replied by Josh Malks on topic boiling fuel
Part of the problem is that you are routing the gasoline thru the old fuel pump. It sits at the hottest point of the engine and is now nothing more than a heat exchanger, taking heat from the manifold and transferring it to the fuel! Let the pump sit there for looks if you wish. But run the actual tubing around it.

Josh B. Malks
810 2087A
ACD Club Life Member
ACD Newsletter editor
Past president
www.automaven.com

Check out CORD COMPLETE at www.cordcomplete.com

More
06 Jun 2011 05:51 #20238 by curt
Replied by curt on topic boiling fuel
red, As you are in SF, Sacramento vintage Ford in Rancho Cordoba sells the loom.

• mikespeed35
  • ACD Club Life Member
  • Registered
More
06 Jun 2011 02:48 #20234 by mikespeed35
Replied by mikespeed35 on topic boiling fuel
I think the material Tim is talking about is wireing loom available at most vintage wiring suppliers.
CORDially Mike

Mike Huffman

• Tim Gilmartin
  • Registered
More