Skip to main content

Saw two Cord's at the Keeneland Concour today

• Ric Simpson
  • Registered
More
31 Jul 2010 18:01 #17426 by Ric Simpson
Replied by Ric Simpson on topic Keenland Concours
Hi! The green car is indeed my car. My car was originally the colour of green apples. I have seen many Cords that were painted this colour originally, but always repainted something else. I am talking about Cords I studied back in the '50s! When it came time to paint my re-restored phaeton, I wanted an eye catching green. I like the original green,(ganges green?) but also like "pearlessence". As the colour catalogue listed "Pearl Grey", I decided to add the pearlessence to the green. I would estimate I have received about 6000 rave reviews about the colour, and about 6 who dislike it and criticise it muchly. The 6 detractors all own Cords! When asked what colour green his Derham Tourster Duesenberg was many years ago, Dr. Elsner replied loudly and proudly, "Envy Green". The car performed admirably on the 1200 mile run to Keenland and back. It seems to be just as good as it was 40 yrs ago when using it for shopping, dinner drives, and taking people and dogs around Niagara Falls sightseeing. I know I am going to upset more people when I install the Buell Air Horns on the hood, but I think the masses may understand. If you are ever in the area, please drop in! I like visitors, Ric.

Ric Simpson,
2001 Niagara Parkway,
Fort Erie, Ontario,
Canada. L2A 5M4

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Chris Summers
  • ACD Club Life Member
  • Registered
More
19 Jul 2010 17:09 #17359 by Chris Summers
Replied by Chris Summers on topic Saw two Cord's at the Keeneland Concour today