• 1748 S
  • Topic Author
  • Away
  • Platinum Forum User
  • Registered
More
03 Dec 2020 22:08 #41676 by 1748 S
Replied by 1748 S on topic Almost Finished GCO
Thanks Terry. My plan was to Cad plate the pieces you mentioned but... I purchased new parts. I was VERY LUCKY to buy three huge parts kits from ebay some time back. I studied the pictures of what was included and checked my Autolite generator parts breakdown diagrams. The part numbers matched so I bought the three kits over a 2 month time line as they came up for sale. I have invested plenty of time and research to do something better than original just for my own restoration reasons. I have been very lucky to see show winning Duesenbergs during restoration and felt if its supposed to be this nice... Why can't I do the same.
Doing Cad plating at home is possible and I have studied this in detail. I may try it later on. But for now nearly everything in my generators is new, replaced or rebuilt. These are VERY expensive generators and when I sell I want to be sure nobody is disappointed with my quality work.

Gary Parsons

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Terry Cockerell
  • Elite Forum User
  • Registered
More
03 Dec 2020 21:44 #41675 by Terry Cockerell
Replied by Terry Cockerell on topic Almost Finished GCO
First class job Gary. Did you CAD plate the threaded items yourself?
It all looks as good as new. If the rest of the car is done to the same degree you will have a show stopper in Auburn one day.
Keep up the good work.

T cockerell
The following user(s) said Thank You: 1748 S

• 1748 S
  • Topic Author
  • Away
  • Platinum Forum User
  • Registered
More
02 Dec 2020 22:21 #41665 by 1748 S
As I continue my GCO restoration I'm finding the second generator will be the better of the two I nearly have complete. So it will be sold when its done. Here are some pictures of everything I can possibly show how I go about this restoration.

Gary Parsons

• 1748 S
  • Topic Author