Skip to main content

Auburn Supercharger running temp

• jamesbartlett
  • Registered
More
24 Sep 2013 21:45 #25986 by jamesbartlett
Replied by jamesbartlett on topic Auburn Supercharger running temp
I'm not an expert, but several points come to mind.

1) Ensure that the noise is in the SC by disconnecting the drive shaft and starting the engine to see if the noise stops.
2) Ensure that the SC is getting oil.
3) Check out the gearbox bearings and gears. Bearings are available.
4) If all else fails, check the planetary set for pitting. The key question is who made the set, and did they do so in accordance with the rather elaborate blueprint specs on clearances and hardening? Before I obtained such a set, I had a local machinist make a new outer race. It pitted within a few months and the noise was quite pronounced. Later on I located a new set that had been made and heat treated to spec. I also got the blueprints, and then had a professional machine shop (owned by a friend) go over everything. There were a few non-critical tolerances that he brought back into spec, just to be sure. All the critical stuff was right on.
5) Check that the aluminum impeller and the flat top plate at the top of the beehive aren't rubbing. This tends to happen when the gearset gets worn.

Incidentally, there's a Youtube video of someone driving a supercharged Auburn, and the SC is definitely far too loud. Don't know who's car that was.

'35 Auburn S/C Convert. Sedan
'32 Duesenberg D/C Phaeton

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• alsancle
  • Topic Author
  • Registered
More
24 Sep 2013 11:29 #25980 by alsancle
Replied by alsancle on topic Auburn Supercharger running temp
Thanks for the feedback. This unit has been completely rebuilt and is definitely noisy which is my dad's concern. I was surprised at the high temp of the bee hive as everything else was cooler.

• jamesbartlett
  • Registered
More
24 Sep 2013 04:29 #25978 by jamesbartlett