Skip to main content

1931-32 AUBURN BRAKE CONVERSION

• Rum-Runner
  • Registered
More
24 Jan 2010 02:42 #15673 by Rum-Runner
Replied by Rum-Runner on topic 1931-32 AUBURN BRAKE CONVERSION
I agree with Ken, if the mechanical brakes are set up according to the instructions in the workshop manual, they work great. I too have had the occasion to lock up the brakes after some one pulled out in front of the Rum-Runner and had blue smoke coming off all four. I've been running the Rum-Runner on tours for 10 yrs and simply go over the routine every year of making sure all linkages are oiled and adjustment are done if needed. Mechanical brakes seem to be like everything else on old cars, they need to be maintained properly and used often. For what it's worth, I'd spend my energy and money on tuning the mechanical brakes and using them, they do a fine job. Regards, The Rum-Runner

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• mason maynard
  • Registered
More
22 Jan 2010 22:01 #15653 by mason maynard
Replied by mason maynard on topic 1931-32 AUBURN BRAKE CONVERSION
ken:
surely its not too complicated to add springs to the system. it is a bit of trouble to find a size that will work. those old springs are tired, and can't be found in the correct size. (or i didn't look hard enough)
as to the condition of the system,we agree. it should be serviced as it always was.
as to pulling to one side... yes they will... to the left.

the laser pyrometer is so easy to use. and it is dead accurate as to sesnsing what we are doing, transfering energy into heat...(i'm the last hi=tech guy in the world!)
field expedency is a standard item in my toolbox. last year part of a road sign ended up being used in my salon! it did the job i asked it too.
by the way, your L=29 is one of my favorites... love that tilted windshield.

• Visitor
22 Jan 2010 02:08 #15643 by
Replied by on topic brakes
Mason