Skip to main content

Bev Kimes

• fyreline
  • Senior Forum User
  • Registered
More
21 May 2008 13:07 #10162 by fyreline
Replied by fyreline on topic Bev Kimes
She was truly a giant in the literature of automotive history. Godspeed, Bev.

And thank you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Greg Riley
  • Premium Forum User
  • Registered
More
21 May 2008 01:26 #10156 by Greg Riley
Replied by Greg Riley on topic Automobile Quarterly
I acquired a large collection of Automobile Quarterly's last year from an elderly collector. I keep them on a shelf near my desk and read something from them almost every day. Bev Kimes wit and wisdom shines through in everything she wrote. As an amateur writer I have a tremendous appreciation for what she has done.

We are all the poorer for her passing. May she rest in peace and never be forgotten!

Greg Riley

• Mike Dube
  • Topic Author
  • Registered
More
21 May 2008 00:42 #10151 by Mike Dube
Bev Kimes was created by Mike Dube
For those who haven't seen the NY Times obit yet:

www.nytimes.com/2008/05/20/sport ... ref=slogin

May 20, 2008
Beverly Rae Kimes, Automotive Journalist and Historian, Is Dead at 68

By DOUGLAS MARTIN

Beverly Rae Kimes, who, after failing to find work as a theater writer, parlayed a job as a secretary at a fledgling car magazine into a career as one of the nation?s pre-eminent historians of automobiles, died on May 12 at Lenox Hill Hospital in Manhattan. She was 68.

Her husband, James H. Cox, announced the death but did not give a cause.

When Ms. Kimes became the first employee hired at Automobile Quarterly ? which aimed to define elegance in cars, mainly antique ones ? she said her main qualification was a driver?s license. But she quickly advanced from typing and stenography to writing or editing more than 20 books and hundreds of articles; winning almost every award in automotive journalism; and becoming a judge and announcer at classic car meets.