Skip to main content

Cracked block

• Curtis Bartell
  • Registered
More
24 Dec 2012 05:15 #24210 by Curtis Bartell
Replied by Curtis Bartell on topic Cracked block
Jon, An old Model T buddy of mine who became addicted to building Model T race cars recently showed me a Frontenac head worth in excess of $4000 that was freezetrashed and given up on. It was missing a large chunk of cast iron on the water jacket and had been repaired by a company called D&R Head and Casting here in Denver 303-458-0232. I can't describe how perfect the repair was. We were racing at a vintage racing event and he drove this car as hard and fast as it was ever run in the 1920s with complete reliability. I was a welder for fourteen years, and repaired a lot of cast iron in that time, but never came close to these guys. Give them a call.

Curt

"I've cut it twice and it's still too short."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• pac32
  • Topic Author
  • Registered
More
03 Dec 2012 02:02 #24022 by pac32
Replied by pac32 on topic Cracked block
Hi M

Thanks for attaching the pictures of the Cord block. My crack is along the top, just at I thought by looking at your pictures, the crack runs along the bottom of the deck for about 10 inches. One thing your pictures show is how thick the casting is in that area, looks like plenty to stitch. I am now somewhat on the fence as to stitch it or first try a stop leak in it. At this point it is only just a slow weep and I have not added ant coolant to it, the car has now traveled about 170 miles.

Jon

• Mark Tomei
  • Registered
More
02 Dec 2012 14:47 #24020 by Mark Tomei
Replied by Mark Tomei on topic Cracked block