Are Members with newer cars welcome to Club functions?

• Bill Hummel
  • Bill Hummel's Avatar Topic Author
  • ACD Club Past President
More
15 Mar 2005 15:18 #2960 by Bill Hummel
Bill Hummel created the topic: Are Members with newer cars welcome to Club functions?
I feel that I must bring up this topic in a Public Forum now.

I have been working non-stop for 6 months to put on a quality Mini-Meet in Texas for our Club Members and their guests. It is going to pay off because you are responding overwhelmingly. It seems that ACD Club members want a top-notch meet in a more upscale setting. I am happy to report that we will have one of the largest Mini-Meets on record!

I am also quite distressed by a number of private messages sent to me asking if Members and Car owners with new generation cars are welcome at our Meets.

The stated purpose of the ACD Club is that it is An Organization for the Restoration and Preservation of Original AUBURN, CORD and DUESENBERG Automobiles. This is not going to change. This is why the Club has survived for 50 years and why it is so highly respected.

However, the Club recognizes that our cars have been honored by the public as being some of the mostly highly-sought vehicles in the world and that many reproductions are being made every day. There can be no higher compliment!

It is my opinion that as long as newer cars are identified as such, there is NO REASON why Club members cannot participate in any club function.

These cars are getting older every day and parts are getting harder and harder to find. How many cars are out there that are complete with no reproduction parts? Very few I suspect.

My car has a newer engine. Is my car a replica? No! It is an original car that is in an incomplete form that is in process of restoration.

Is a re-bodied Duesenberg a replica? Some would say yes. It certainly is not original.