Skip to main content

Fog lights

• Terry Cockerell
  • Elite Forum User
  • Registered
More
25 Oct 2020 05:51 #41298 by Terry Cockerell
Replied by Terry Cockerell on topic Fog lights
No special work is required, the "CORD Fog Light" tags are just big enough to cover the engraved lettering in the shell.
I showed two examples in my previous posting.

T cockerell

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• mikespeed35
  • ACD Club Life Member
  • Registered
More
25 Oct 2020 05:19 #41294 by mikespeed35
Replied by mikespeed35 on topic Fog lights
I would not "buff off" the Fog King engraving. Would probably remove too much material. Silver solder the engraving then copper and nickel and chrome. Quality chrome shops can handle that if you don't want to. This is a general statement as I have no knowledge of what is correct for 810/12 Cord fog lights.
CORDiallyMike

Mike Huffman

• Terry Cockerell
  • Elite Forum User
  • Registered
More
23 Oct 2020 20:14 - 24 Oct 2020 06:18 #41270 by Terry Cockerell
Replied by Terry Cockerell on topic Fog lights
Bill sorry to read of the disaster. Had the foglight clamp or bezel let go?
They are made from copper with tiny slots pressed into them to engage hooks.
Some of the slots on mine were damaged so I am having strengthening copper strips silver soldered over them by a jewler.
The name tags should completely cover the lettering pressed into the shells.
The first picture comes from the Connersville Museum. The second picture shows one of my lights. I put some masking tape over the area, marked out the holes, gently centre punched them and drilled them.
I guess I need to get some smaller screws with nuts. The self tapping screws I used look a bit too big.
I will post some pictures of the repairs when I have the clamps back.

T cockerell
Attachments:
Last edit: 24 Oct 2020 06:18 by Terry Cockerell. Reason: Adding pictures and revising text.

• wcoye
  • Topic Author
  • Registered
More