Skip to main content

Model "J" Engine VS Stutz DV32

• Bob Roller
  • Premium Member
  • Registered
More
15 Dec 2010 20:05 #18791 by Bob Roller
Raydon Thompson who was the man that got me started into this interest in Duesenberg had owned several DV 32's and had nothing good to say about them. He thought the oil galleries in the DV32 were inadequate and frequent bearing failures were the result of that deficiency. I also think he said they were built by Excelsior engine works but that is something I have no firm knowledge about. Anybody here know about this company?I think there was a car named "Excelsior" but don't recall ever seeing one.
The Lycoming built "J" seemed to vary in quality from one group to the next and in a phone conversation with August Duesenberg in 1952,we were told the last group of engines that were delivered from Lycoming had to be taken apart and redone.I recall him saying when they tried to start one it locked up when a piston and valve came together so they assumed all of them were that far out of time and went through the whole batch. They found that some pistons didn't have all the rings,rod and main bearing caps were not properly tightened on some of them. He also said that few of them produced the claimed 265 horsepower unless they were really tuned and he said Fred himself usually supervised that job.This was,of course before the accident in 1932 that claimed Fred's life.
He also said he never heard of anyone complaining that the cars were too slow.